God Bless The Missionaries

I love my great aunt, Margie.  She has been away from this earth for many years now.  I still remember many things about her, but the thing I remember most about her is her love for Jesus.  Because of her love for Him, she never had a negative word towards anyone, even if the person was entirely bad, she would find the good in them and overlook the rest.  I find that almost impossible to do, but so thankful for her to display such a role model to follow.  I think about that trait in her often when I start thinking negatively about someone I see doing something I don’t approve of.  I imagine how Margie would see that person inspite of what was showing on the outside.  That is truly amazing.

She lived alone most of her life as her husband died very young, but in her last months she ended up in a care center after she broke her hip as many elderly people do later in life.  She had the most amazing passing to heaven.  She was in great spirits sitting with a nurse at lunch just talking and talking as she loved to do.  In the middle of a story, she paused, took one solid deep breath, breathed it out, and gave up her spirit to the Lord.  How beautiful was that.  Don’t we all desire such a peaceful death of the body and an awakening to new life in heaven?

But, the story I want to tell you is about my last visit with my aunt before she passed.  I had went on my own to visit her over lunch just days prior to her leaving the earth.  We were talking about all sorts of things like what I was doing for work, what was going on in the family, and such like that.  I don’t remember much of those conversations, but I remember one final phrase she said to me.  I got up to leave her at the lunch table because the nurse was going to take her back to her room.  I gave her a hug and told her I loved her and would visit again.  After leaning down to give her a hug, I stood up as if to depart, but she grabbed my arm causing me to turn back to her one last time.  Her words were to me, “God bless the missionaries.”   That was all she said and then I left.  Her comments were entirely random to me as I had not been talking with her about any missions or anything related.  These were the last words I heard from her and they still ring in my ears years later.  So, was God trying to give a message through her in her final words?  I believe so.

13 For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” 14 How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard?[c] And how are they to hear without someone preaching? 15 And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” ”  Romans 10:15

Has God called you as a fellow believer and heir in Christ?  If so, God has given you a purpose and that is to share the new with others.  Are you an encourager?  Then God might be calling you to share His encouragement with others.  Do you have a heart for those who are walking in darkness?  Then God might be calling you to share His light to others.  Has God called you to warn others in order to bring them to repentance?  Then God might be calling you like a prophet of old to share the transforming power of repentance and forgiveness.  Do you have the heart to see people healed of their afflictions and diseases?  Then God might be calling you to step out in faith to lay hands on people and pray for their healing.  Has God given you a heart of compassion and kindness towards others?  Then God might be calling you to go deeds for others so that they might know the kindness of God.

In all cases, God calls each of us to share about Him in our own unique way.  What is your way?  Are you using it?

God bless the missionaries!

17 Only let each person lead the life[c] that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him. This is my rule in all the churches.  1 Corinthians 7:17

10 As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: 11 whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies—in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him belong glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”  1 Peter 4:10-11

Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. For to one is given through the Spirit the utterance of wisdom, and to another the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by the one Spirit, 10 to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another the ability to distinguish between spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. 11 All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills.”  1 Corinthains 12:4-11

