Perfect Protection In A Storm

“And the men marveled, saying, “What sort of man is this, that even winds and sea obey him?””  Matthew 8:27

We had a storm over this past weekend, as is typical of hot Minnesota evenings.  It never fails that every year, at least one tree or huge branch gets toppled over onto my heavily wooded property which causes me (or my dad – thanks dad!) to have to chainsaw and stack wood.  This past weekend’s tree down reminded me of a tornado that went through my property several years ago.   The tornado ripped through the property dropping huge trees many decades old.  It ripped out deeply rooted roots, twisted trunks like braided hair, and threw massive trees like they were feathers all over the property.  It looked like a disaster zone, but a few things were amazing in spite of the intense forest damage… the house was left in tact, and every one of my photography props was untouched.  I have an outdoor photography studio at my place that is lined with little ‘theater’ sets, mostly built out of light-weight styrofoam.  I can easily move them without much effort, though they look heavy.  A semi-heavy wind of 30 mph or more can easily move these sets, yet the 80+ mph tornado swirling and twirling throughout the acreage never bothered to come near them, though just feet away from the massive trees uprooted and thrown to the ground.  I never really understood why back then, but I’ve seen a pattern over the years. Though we continue to have storms (none as bad as the tornado though) and trees continue to fall, every tree that has fallen has fallen on a perfect path of least destruction and has never once touched my ‘theater’ props.   This weekend, another tree fell down perfectly between my stryofoam brick column and a wooden bench, touching neither of them.  And, a large branch crashed off of a tree at the perfect mark leaving my tree swing still operational.  It’s very weird to say the least, but what I can see through it is that God’s protection is perfect in a storm.

Yes, God’s protection is perfect in a storm.

God can perfectly coordinate anything from the where trees fall, to a series of events that may seem unrelated, to connecting with ‘random’ individuals, to anything or anyone which will bring about His protection from a storm.  His examples to me through the physical storms that I’ve experienced paints a deeper picture of other storms that are present in the life of His children, whether it be a health storm, an emotional storm, a relational storm, a spiritual storm, or a physical storm.  God’s protection is perfect in a storm.  Does that mean that God will spare us from all of these trials and protect us perfectly in our own minds?  No.  God may choose to allow a tree to drop on my house or may choose to allow a sickness in my life, relational strive, spiritual struggle, and the like, but God will protect me and you perfectly in His own way.  He does allow things to come into our lives that we may deem as ‘bad’ to strengthen us, to turn us back to Him, and a good wealth of other very good reasons, but everything is for a reason and His protection is perfect in all storms.

  • 28 Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress. 29 He made the storm be still, and the waves of the sea were hushed. 30 Then they were glad that the waters[a] were quiet, and he brought them to their desired haven.”  Psalm 107:28-30
  • ” But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.”  Psalm 5:11
  • “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. ”  Jeremiah 29:11
  • “You who fear the Lord, trust in the Lord! He is their help and their shield.”  Psalm 115:11

Father, Thank you that you protect and care for your own.  Help us to trust you in all situations, even when it seems like you aren’t protecting us.  It is helpful for us to remember that you are always in complete control and plan everything perfectly for those who trust and love you.  When we enter trials, help us to see where you are protecting us.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

 

