A Book of Remembrance

My mom, daughter, and I (the three-generation trio) have been traveling the globe for nine years, as often as we can, seeing places as diverse as Australia, Sri Lanka, Singapore, France, & Peru.  These are precious, special times that I treasure in my heart always.

My first goal when I return from a trip is to quickly make a book of remembrance, i.e., a Shutterfly book, showing all of the wonderful sights we saw and documenting special moments at these sites.  I’m driven to get the book ordered within the week so that I don’t forget anything.  Now, I have these books lining my bookshelf and I adore looking at them and pondering all of our wonderful experiences.  Without these books, I wouldn’t consider the trips as often as I do, and honestly, I’d forget all of these amazing times.  The books bring memories back to life.

On a separate, yet related note, as we look around, we see both bad and good people receiving God’s blessings.  Why do the evil seem to prosper and why does the righteous often suffer?  We don’t see this as fair, and I know I for one, struggle with this.  We read verses like this…

“Oh, let the evil of the wicked come to an end, and may you establish the righteous— you who test the minds and hearts, O righteous God!”  Psalm 7:9
…and we don’t see progress with the wicked coming to an end.  Our patience grows short with God and we get frustrated and possibly angry and bitter about the injustice around us.

However, did you know that God has a book of remembrance about your life that He considers and ponders from time to time, just like my Shutterfly books on my shelf?

14 “You have said, ‘It is vain to serve God. What is the profit of our keeping his charge or of walking as in mourning before the Lord of hosts?16 Then those who feared the Lord spoke with one another. The Lord paid attention and heard them, and a book of remembrance was written before him of those who feared the Lord and esteemed his name. 17 “They shall be mine, says the Lord of hosts, in the day when I make up my treasured possession, and I will spare them as a man spares his son who serves him. 18 Then once more you shall see the distinction between the righteous and the wicked, between one who serves God and one who does not serve him.”  Malachi 3:14, 16-18

I just discovered this fact the other day and it brought some comfort to my soul, as well as convicted me to make sure my name showed up from time to time in His book of remembrance.  You see, God does keep tract of everything going on, from the prospering of the evil to the suffering of the righteous.  And, He keeps track of how you respond to His Word…. how well you try to keep His commands, how often you pray, how you trust in His Word, how frequently you share His Name, and how you serve and care for others.  These things are kept in His precious book of remembrance that He will consider.  His promise is that for those who show up in this book, that He will call them His treasured possession and spare them from His wrath (if we read earlier in Malachi 3).

What a promise to know that God is watching and is keeping track of what is going on.  And, yes, it does matter how you live your life here on earth.

14 What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? 15 If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, 16 and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? 17 So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.  18 But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works. ”  James 2: 14-18

Father God, Help us to choose right from wrong in all of our decisions and actions, no matter what the world might say.  Help us to consider You often and share about all the good that You have done and are doing.  Keep a remembrance book of You in our own hearts and mind that we might open that book often.

 

 

 

