What If We Answered His Call?

For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it. What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul? For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will reward each person according to what they have done.” Matthew 16:25-26

A photographer, Kevin Carter, in March of 1993 captured this image of a vulture stalking a dying child during his trip to southern Sudan, near the village of Ayod.  The girl had stopped to rest while struggling to get to a center where food would await her.  Upon her rest, the vulture landed nearby to await his own meal.  Kevin waited in stillness for 20 minutes hoping for the vulture would spread its wings, but it never did, so he captured the picture as is was… a heart-wrenching image of a dying child.  Later, it was published, and many called Kevin to see what happened to the girl, but he did not know as he was there for the photo, and did not help the girl.    He was so haunted by this image that he later took his own life.

What if we all answered the call of Christ on our life? How much more better off would everyone be?

  •  For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’”  Matthew 25:35-40

Father God, Forgive us for the times when we did not step in to help your precious children.  Open our eyes to see the hurting, helpless, and sick around us and help us to be Your hands and feet.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

kevin-carter-vulture

