If You Have Nothing Good To Say, Remain Silent!

“Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say: “Now have come the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God, and the authority of his Messiah. For the accuser of our brothers and sisters, who accuses them before our God day and night, has been hurled down.”  Revelation 2:10

Revelation tells us that Satan accuses us and tries to get us ‘convicted’ and ‘sentenced’ in front of God day and night. His goal is to try to convince God that His children are all failures, “Look at what she did now!  She doesn’t really love you.”  “He doesn’t even obey your commandments, how can he really be your child?”  Though God doesn’t take the accusations to heart, the sad part is that we often listen to these accusations and do take them to heart.  I, am no different…

I have not written any posts for quite a while.  I had gotten ‘busy’ with life and away from God’s Word every day, opening up a door that should not have been opened, and so Satan, my accuser, has been heaping his accusations onto me.  “You have nothing good to say.”  “Who do you think you are?”  “You know nothing.”  “Give it up.”  “It doesn’t matter.”  “Your writings aren’t helping anyone.”   And, on and on.

I listened to these accusations, and not to my heavenly Father, and so, I remained silent because I felt I had nothing good to say. This was a lie from Satan in order to shut my mouth and stop me from speaking about Him.  You see, God’s Words have power in each and every one of them and Satan knows it.  If he can shut the mouth of a follower of Jesus, he has won… if even just temporarily.

If you are a follower of Jesus Christ, you have much good to say, for every word from our Lord brings life, conviction, transformation, and much more.  He spoke and the world was created.  He spoke and people were healed.  He spoke and people were raised from the dead.  He spoke and nothing was ever the same.

“So is My Word that goes out from My mouth: It will not return to Me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”  Isaiah 55:11

“If you have nothing good to say, then remain silent,” is a lie from Satan.  You, as a child of God, are full of the Good News of Jesus Christ, and when His Words are spoken, nothing will ever be the same.

Father God, I repent of my silence and my withdrawl from your Word and from your people.  Forgive me for listening to Satan’s lies about sharing Your Words.  Create a new fire within my heart and the confidence to continue the race You have set before me and encourage anyone reading this who has also let similar things happen to be assured that You are using them in powerful ways.  Thank you that we are privileged to be your hands, feet, heart, and mouth.  In the mighty name of Jesus.  Amen.

download (3)

