Lures Of The World

A few days ago we did a two-day study on King Solomon from 1 Kings.  God had granted him the ‘wish’ of wisdom, but had also given him more wealth and fame then any other.  We learned that Solomon, though filled with the wisdom of God, yet still just a sinful man, fell away from God as the lure of wealth, fame, and lust drew him away.

Solomon… a failed experiment, yet lessons learned…

Solomon lived the the splendor of what the world had to offer.  He had everything he desired, and he took full advantage of everything he could, sparing no expense.  He had the most beautiful, extravagant home, the finest clothing, the most exquisite food, all the precious stones and glowing gems, people to wait on his every need, and every woman he laid his eyes on.

So, the question to ask is if one were to obtain every desire of his or her heart in this world, would this bring true happiness?

  • “Meaningless! Meaningless!” says the Teacher. “Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.””  Ecc 1:2
  • “I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind.”  Ecc 1:14

The answer from Solomon was “No.”  Nothing in the world could bring true happiness.  I believe that God gave Solomon all of these ‘blessings’ to teach us all a lesson, that even if we obtain the entire world, we still will not be fulfilled and satisfied.  We will always want more because our heart’s true desire is for our heavenly Father.

  • “I said to myself, “Come now, I will test you with pleasure to find out what is good.” But that also proved to be meaningless. “Laughter,” I said, “is madness. And what does pleasure accomplish?”  I tried cheering myself with wine, and embracing folly—my mind still guiding me with wisdom. I wanted to see what was good for people to do under the heavens during the few days of their lives. I undertook great projects: I built houses for myself and planted vineyards. I made gardens and parks and planted all kinds of fruit trees in them. I made reservoirs to water groves of flourishing trees. I bought male and female slaves and had other slaves who were born in my house. I also owned more herds and flocks than anyone in Jerusalem before me. I amassed silver and gold for myself, and the treasure of kings and provinces. I acquired male and female singers, and a harem as well—the delights of a man’s heart. I became greater by far than anyone in Jerusalem before me. In all this my wisdom stayed with me. I denied myself nothing my eyes desired; I refused my heart no pleasure. My heart took delight in all my labor, and this was the reward for all my toil. Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done and what I had toiled to achieve, everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind; nothing was gained under the sun.”  Ecc 2:1-11

Solomon wrote the book of Ecclesiastes which explains this futility of everything the world has to offer, the futility of wisdom, pleasure, possessions, labor, and life.  His conclusion:

“The conclusion, when all has been heard, is fear God and keep His commandments because this applies to every person.”  Ecc 12:13

Father God, Forgive us for the times when we desire more and more from the world.  We don’t appreciate what you have given us, but instead want newer and better things.  Help us to set aside all our desires from this world and to focus on You for our true needs.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

CLEAR-STOCK-Wholesale-5g-8-5cm-10pcs-lot-Hard-font-b-Baits-b-font-Lures-Cheap

