A Flashlight For The Dark

“When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”  John 8:12

Have you ever found yourself in a dark room because the power went out, or maybe out in the middle of the woods without the light of the moon on a cloudy night?  It’s a scary feeling stumbling through the dark trying to find safety and security.  I remember clearly a particular occasion when I was a young girl in Girl Scouts.  We were on a camping expedition in the middle of the woods.  I had a habit of sleep walking and, of course, on one of these camping nights, I awoke to find myself standing in the middle of the woods in almost pitch darkness… no jacket, no shoes, no flashlight.  I was in a panic as I frantically glanced from side to side trying to find the dark shape of my tent among the shadows of the trees.  Where was my way?  Where was my safety?  Where was anyone to be with me?  There was nothing to illuminate my path.  After deciding on a direction in which to walk, I found myself, barefoot, stumbling on some sort of path in the hopeful direction of my tent. Fortunately, I headed in the right direction, found my tent, and found my bed after much effort.  It was a night of fear that I will never forget.

Who wants to walk alone in the dark without a light?  It’s just plain dangerous!

We want a light!  Light cuts through the darkness and illuminates our path in this dark world.  Without the illuminating light of Jesus, we walk in total darkness, tripping, stumbling, and falling on everything in our paths.  We find ourselves bruised and hurt by the objects in the darkness and find ourselves heading in dangerous directions. Fortunately, there is a light we can cling to.  With the light of Jesus, we can see clearly what is before us, being careful to not trip and fall. He shines light on our path guiding us to safety and security… and most importantly, the right direction.

Jesus, we thank you for being a light and a guide in this world.  What joy we have knowing that you are guiding our path and keeping us from falling.  Thank you that we no longer have to walk in darkness.  In Jesus name we pray. Amen.

156365-375x249-A-flashlight-shining-in-the-dark-woods

