Loop Holes

Tax advisers diligently seek out loop holes to help their clients.  Once discovered, these loop holes help you to manipulate the system to avoid having to pay taxes in certain areas.

Loop Hole Definition:  A way of escaping a difficulty, especially an omission or ambiguity in the wording of a contract or law that provides a means of evading compliance.

Can we find loop holes in God’s laws… or ways of evading compliance?

Let’s look at one of the 10 Commandments, “Do not steal.”

We all know that stealing is wrong, but, let’s suppose there is someone who is extremely poor and dying of starvation. In order to spare their own life, they break into a millionaire’s home to raid their refrigerator and grab anything they can find. The millionaire never even misses the food as he is away on his third excursion around the world this year.  Was it okay for the person to steal in this sense because, if they wouldn’t have, they would die without it and it’s not fair that the millionaire has so much money?

If it is okay to steal in certain situations, then we have created a gray area. We’ve taken God’s black and white rules and developed an area where, we’ve determined, it is okay to break the rule under these certain situations… loop holes.  Now, we’ve left God’s rules open for individual interpretation where one person’s opinion may be different from another’s.

“Did God really say, ‘You must not [do this]?…”  Genesis 3:1

Satan’s greatest trick is to take the black and white rules of God and make them gray.  “Surely God couldn’t have meant that, did He?” allows each person to change the moral law to fit his or her own needs.  “It’s okay if I cheat on this test because if I don’t I won’t graduate and I really need to graduate or my parents will be upset.”  “It’s okay to steal a pen from work because they have so many anyway.”  “It’s okay for me to have an affair because my wife isn’t fullfilling my needs.” “It’s okay to have an abortion because I’d be a terrible parent and don’t have the money to provide.” “I’m totally disowning my dad because he was a terrible person.”

The moral law is never up for debate.  God doesn’t change.  He created black and white rules and they were meant to stay that way.  We are the ones who create the gray matter.  Yes, we, as Christians, make mistakes.. many of them. We fall, we repent, and we get back up again, only to repeat them again.  We knew it was wrong to begin with because God’s black and white law was written on our hearts.

There are no loop holes with God.  When we think we find them, we actually fall through them right onto our faces. What He says is what He says.  Loop holes are man made.

  • “Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.” John 14:23-24

Father, Forgive us for being gray at times and allowing your laws and plans to be watered down and up for discussion. Help us to obey your laws so that you might be glorified in everything that we do and so that we will not suffer the pain our sin causes us and others.  Help us to stand up for truth and help others to see your plans for their lives.  In Jesus Name. Amen.

loophole_thumb4

