Caring Actions

“What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds. You believe that there is one God.Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder. You foolish person, do you want evidence that faith without deeds is useless? … As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.”  James 2:14-20,26

If I tell others, “I love and serve the Lord,” and then I show it by going to church every week, participating in a small group, going to motivational worship conferences, reading my Bible every day, and praying with all my heart, yet my deeds of love towards others, nor my outreach to the lost does not exist, do I really love and serve the Lord, or am I just a hypocrite?  How can I truly love the Lord and yet my heart is not drawn towards loving and serving others?  Faith without deeds is non-existent.  It is not possible to have a true faith and yet have no deeds to prove it.  Do you seek deeds to prove your faith?  No.  Your deeds naturally come because of your faith.

  • “I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.”  Psalm 9:1

The Lord is full of goodness and proves it with deeds of goodness.  If we are to be a mirror image of our Lord and Savior, then our lives should reflect the very qualities of God.

  • “Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.”  I Timothy 6:18

Is your life a reflection of the love and care of your Father God?  Are you becoming more like Him, serving more?

Father God, Remove in us any impurities that are blocking your work in our lives.  Forgive us for the times that we claim one thing, yet our actions do not show it.  We do not want to be hypocrites and want fully to live by your commands of loving our neighbors as ourselves.  Open our eyes and guide us to love and serve others as you would do.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

529169_605823512822692_1554591071_n

