Honoring Your Parents

“Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” Ephesians 6:2-3

How do you treat your parents?  Will you regret it later in life?

I’ve been blessed with wonderful parents, who are still around for me to enjoy today.  I am very thankful for that.  It’s easy to show them reverence now as I am an adult, but I wasn’t always so respectful as a child and especially a teen.  As I watch my teenage daughter now, I can so associate with that same mentality and attitude I had within myself.  I believe that most of us go through this rebellious phase where we think more of our own opinions then the wisdom of our parents. As we mature, we realize our errors and often regret many past conversations and actions.  

  • “Every one of you shall reverence his mother and his father…” Leviticus 18:15

Honoring your parents is a command that comes with a promise from the Lord… a promise that it may go well with you and you enjoy long life.  Those are two things that all of us would love to enjoy.

  • ““Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the Lord your God is giving you.”  Exodus 20:12
  • ““Honor your father and your mother, as the Lord your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the Lord your God is giving you.”  Deuteronomy 5:16

Sometimes, even as adults, it is hard to honor our parents.  You may have parents who have been absent or abusive and honoring them sends shivers down your spine.  Remember that it is God’s job to convict and change people, we are just called to love and honor them.  With the help and strength of Jesus, we can even love difficult parents.

    • “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”  Phillipians 4:13

Living with past regrets because of how you’ve treated your parents?  Forgiveness is always possible.  Jesus promises forgiveness for all those who come to Him in repentance.  You may need to humbly go to your parents as well to ask their forgiveness for your own attitudes and behaviors, and in the end, it will be worth it.

What are some things today that you can do to honor your parents?  Even if your parents are no longer around, what did they treasure and cherish?  You can also honor them by honoring those whom your parents loved or helping those whom your parents helped.

eyerolling

