Thirst For Water

“My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?”  Psalm 42:2

Have you ever been so thirsty that you thought you were going to die?  Maybe after a long run or race?  Maybe after you’ve worked out in the hot sun all day?  There are those around the world who do not have clean drinking water.  They may go days without the essential water, that we often take for granted.  I would venture to guess that they, exponentially, long so deeply for a life-giving fresh drink of water.

  • “But the people were thirsty for water there, and they grumbled against Moses. They said, “Why did you bring us up out of Egypt to make us and our children and livestock die of thirst?””  Exodus 17:13

Just as we long for fresh water to give us life, so too are we to long even more deeply for God.

What is standing in the way of you longing for God this much?  Is He truly life-giving water to you?

  • You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is no water.”  Psalm 63:1

Father God, give us a thirst for you beyond anything that we have known.  You are the water that quenches all thirst.  You are the giver of life.  You are everything we desire.  Help us to understand that more fully so that we cannot even imagine being without you for a second.  In Jesus’ Name.  Amen.

“but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  [Jesus] John 4:14

1013116_443450555753186_483077278_n

One thought on “Thirst For Water

Comments are closed.