The Great I Am vs. I Am

“God said to Moses, “I am who I am.  This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’” Exodus 3:14

God is the only great “I Am.”  “I Am” is everything!  He created all things.  He is in all things.  He is aware of all things.  He controls all things.  He is ever present, ever available, ever capable, ever victorious.  In all that we are and all that we do, we owe everything to Him.  Our goal in this life is to exalt the great “I Am.”  It is when we turn to exalting ourselves, that we are drawn away from the Lord in our pride.

  • “For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”  Matthew 23:12

We can see this clearly from a parable that Jesus told to His disciples.  The Pharisee exalted himself and all that he was perceived he was.  He was knowledgeable, intelligent, and wealthy and knew it.  He put himself on a pedestal higher than others, filling his own head with self talk about how good he was and how much better he was than others.  It was his downfall.  Jesus later made comments about how the Pharisees were a brood of vipers coming from their father, Satan.  In contrast, the tax collector knew he was not good enough and felt the gap between who God was and who he was.  Since he exalted the Savior with his own realization of his unworthiness, which, in turn, showed the worthiness of the Savior, the tax collector was accepted and loved by God, being forgiven for his transgressions.  Which would you rather be?

  • “ To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everyone else, Jesus told this parable: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector.  I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’But the tax collector [Matthew] stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’  “I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” Luke 18:9-14

 Instead of exalting ourselves, let’s exalt the One who truly deserves to be exalted… Jesus Christ, The Great I Am!

  • ” Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!””  John 8:58

Father God, we repent of the times where we have exalted ourselves with self-talk, over inflating our egos and causing us to be prideful and unloving.  We are sorry for the times when we have accepted praise that should have gone directly to you.  Help us to see our true selves and realize that only you can make us worth anything of value.  I acknowledge that you are the great “I Am” only worthy of my praise.  In Jesus Name.  Amen.

Watch the following video clip from Oprah & Joel Osteen entitled “I Am”:

Click to watch:  I Am

i-am-title-bright

