Knowledge Puffs Up… Service Humbles

“…We know that “We all possess knowledge.” But knowledge puffs up while love builds up. Those who think they know something do not yet know as they ought to know. But whoever loves God is known by God.”  1 Cor 8:1

What good is knowledge if I don’t use it?

If I study diligently how to cook a lovely Thanksgiving meal for my family and when they visit for the big day, I instead stop at McDonald’s to buy them value meals, how good was that knowledge of how to cook the perfect Thanksgiving meal?  I excitedly tell them that I have learned so much from studying about cooking turkeys and argue about how my way of cooking was the best, yet I presented no proof that I actually understood what I read, or no proof that I actually spent any time reading at all.  It could have been a lie from their point of view.  Seeing is believing and they are not seeing.

If I study God’s Word from sun up until sun down, never putting to practice what I have learned, what good am I to the rest of the world?  I may argue with others stating that my way is the right way, but what proof do they see in my life that even shows God’s true characteristics coming out in me?  As far as they are concerned, I could be a liar and worse yet, if God is really like that, why would they want to know Him too?

Sometimes the following is true, “As we grow smarter, our hearts grow colder.”  Why?  Because as we are obtaining knowledge, we tend to neglect the practical part of knowledge… putting it to use.

  • “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.”  James 1:22-25

Knowledge of Scripture is key to our spiritual growth.  It helps us to know God, know what He approves of and disapproves of, and grow to be more like Christ.  

  • “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”  2 Timothy 3:16-17

If your knowledge, though, is not changing you and affecting those around you, then you are missing a key… LOVE.

  • “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”  1 Corinthians 13:13

Why is LOVE the greatest?  Love pushes us out of our comfort zone. It stretches us beyond what our minds can understand.  It removes barriers like “I can’t do that.”  It overlooks faults and differences.  It gives more than it receives. Its desire is to pleasingly serve God and others.

  • “Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.”  1 Peter 4:10

Are you missing love?  Ask God to expand your heart to love Him more and to love others more.  Love is a good gift that God wants to freely bless you with, so that you might also bless others.

  • “If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”  Luke 11:13

In what ways have you served others this year?  this month?  this week?  this day?

There are so many opportunities to serve right where you are, from your next door neighbor, your co-worker who sits next to you, to the local food shelf, to a mission trip to Africa.  No service is too great or too small and service does not have to be affiliated with your local church… service is ordained by God and for all.

blablabla-300x225

