Removing Blindfolds

“The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.”  2 Corinthians 4:4

One of the women from our my Ethiopian mission team, Lynn, opened my eyes to the power of God in the Muslim community.  She was telling me of an African Muslim in the middle of a Muslin community…  One night, he had a vision of Jesus.  Jesus came to him and said, “You are now going to worship me.”  Immediately, the Muslim man became a believer in Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  His family told him to flee or they would kill him.  He was now on his own…for a season.  It was several years before he was able to get in touch with his sister, whom he then visited (and a few more family members).  When he told them about Jesus, they were instantly converted and now much of his family is Christian.

  • “I was found by those who did not seek me; I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me.”  Romans 10:20

Our jobs as Christians is to share the Good News of Christ with the world.  Where we don’t or can’t go, Jesus personally goes to those who have an open heart to His Good News.  That was an awesome revelation for me!

  • “but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.”  2 Timothy 1:10

This has inspired me more to pray for Muslims.  In the airport in Ethiopia, my friend and I had an opportunity.  We walked to the bathroom only to note that it was right near the Muslim prayer area.  Many Muslims were in then, a women’s part, and a man’s part.  They were all bowing and chanting in prayer.  I watched them for a few minutes thinking about how intentional they are about prayer and then I began praying for them, praying for them to also have a revelation from Jesus Christ Himself.  I prayed for all the Muslims in the entire airport (which was A TON!), that there would be revival in the Muslin nation and that the name of Jesus would be proclaimed.  My friend also prayed silently.  We had another opportunity as our waiter was also Muslim and allowed us the opportunity to pray for him, though he knew we were Christians.  My friend prayed out loud for his family, as he had requested, and I silently petitioned God for a revelation for this young man.

Pray for the Muslims that they would come to know the forgiveness and love of Jesus!  Their god, Allah, is a critical and far-off god, and very demanding.  They never know for certain if they will make it to heaven, so live in a constant state of tension.  They cannot feel the tangible love of their true, heavenly God of the Bible.

The Hebrew names of the one, true God:  Elohim (god, or authority, plural form), El (mighty one), El Shaddai (almighty), Adonai (master), Elyon (highest), Avinu (our father), YHWH (Most common and pronounced “Yah-weh (way)”) (“He is” or “I Am”).

eth-lr-1860 copy

