Hearing God’s Voice

How often have you longed to hear the voice of God?

  • “…do not be silent. Do not be far from me, Lord.” [David’s cry out to the Lord] Psalm 35:22

God speaks in several different ways:

  1. Dreams & visions
  2. Audible voice
  3. Promptings by the Holy Spirit
  4. Through His Word
  5. Through others

I have heard the audible voice of God once in my life.  It was the night I first came to know Jesus Christ.  After over an hour of crying out to the Lord in prayer and thanksgiving, sobbing, feeling both sorrow for my sins and happiness in that I was loved by God,  He spoke these three words to me as clear as the voices I hear each day.  “I forgive you.”  I will never forget those words and often I go back to that time and think about the amazing gift He gave me during that one minute.  Of course, I desperately long to hear that voice again, but my guess is, that I will not hear it again that clear until I meet my Lord face to face.  

Most often, God will speak to us through His Word.  So, if we want to hear God’s voice, we must open His Word.  If we don’t spend time in His Word, then not only will we not hear His voice, but the voice that we hear will not be the true voice of God and will lead us further away from Him.  “Gut feelings” aren’t necessarily God’s voice.

Other “voices” that we listen to and can be distracted by…

  • Our families
  • Our spouses/significant others
  • Our kids
  • Our friends
  • Our jobs
  • Our entertainment (tv, facebook, outings, sports events, books, etc)
  • Our household duties
  • Our ministry efforts
  • Our worldly desires
  • Our unrepentant sins
  • Satan’s voice

“Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will perish by following their example of disobedience. For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.” Hebrews 4:11-13

God’s Word is called the “Living Word of God.”  No other book in all of history is “living,” speaking to and transforming its readers.  God’s Word has the power to cause a 2nd birth, transform lives, remove sinful desires, instill boldness, increase love for others, and so much more.  Without God’s Word, there is no life.  Open it!  Treasure it!

  • “For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.”  1 Peter 1:23

tumblr_m5z8kjCRuY1rqjui3

