Whirlwinds of Life

Isaiah 54:  10-12  “Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the Lord, who has compassion on you. “Afflicted city, lashed by storms and not comforted, I will rebuild you with stones of turquoise,  your foundations with lapis lazuli. I will make your   battlements of rubies, your gates of sparkling jewels, and all your walls of precious stones.”

In light of the devastating tornadoes that have ripped through Oklahoma, these last two days, especially today with the havoc observed on the news in the heart of Oklahoma City, I offer my prayers to those who have lost much in these storms.  We cannot even begin to understand the depths of the broken hearts and lives.  I pray that God comforts those who need comforting, strength to those who are weak, love to those who feel no love, peace where there is chaos, provision where all has been lost, and conviction where repentance is needed.

  • Jeremiah 23:19 “See, the storm of the Lord will burst out in wrath, a whirlwind swirling down on the heads of the wicked.”

Through my study of weather in the Bible (Click to read previous post on weather), I am certain that God is in complete control over the weather at all times.  He guides and directs the weather to accomplish His desires.  In almost all circumstances in the Bible, tornadoes (or whirlwinds) are a method used by God to punish the evil ways of man and/or cause them to open their eyes and return to Him.  It seems like a tragedy to us and we cannot even understand His methods, but even in the storms, God protects and provides for His own children.  Those who have given their lives to His Son, Jesus Christ, are protected as a Father protects His young.  His children were not only protected in this storm, but were, and will continue to be, used in mighty ways to be His witness to those around.  Though we may not hear the stories, they are there.

  • John 18:9 “… “I have not lost one of those you gave me.”  [Jesus speaking]

Proof that God protects His children through the storm:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNjKiYpJoQc

God desires that all repent and return to Him, acknowledging Him as their Creator and Savior.  He desires their repentance, their love, their worship, and their trust in Him.

  • Jeremiah 24:7 “I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.”

God shines through the storms.  He convicts hearts.  He opens blind eyes.  He softens hard hearts.  He stirs souls to repentance.  He increases awareness of Himself.  He loves and heals through His servants.  He is in control.  He is love.  He is holy.  He is a righteous judge.  He is a loving Father.

  • Nahum 1: 2-4 “The Lord is slow to anger but great in power; the Lord will not leave the guilty unpunished.  His way is in the whirlwind and the storm, and clouds are the dust of his feet.”

I just learned that for the past week, Oklahoma City has been celebrating Gay Pride week with various entertainment including a drag show, parade, picnics, celebrations, and more.  These events happened throughout the city.   I believe the verse referenced in Nahum:  God is slow to anger, but He does not hold His anger forever.  It is ‘ironically’ possible that God was showing Oklahoma City His disapproval of their pride festival, just as it is ‘ironically’ possible that Minnesota now has the highest gasoline prices in the entire United States since the marriage amendment has been passed allowing for homosexual marriage.  I could be wrong, but it has struck me as very weird in these two cases.

God is love, but God also is truth and holiness.  He was the same, is the same, and will always be the same.  God does not change His standards.  We have changed His standards and I believe that He may not be very happy about that, but instead desires us to acknowledge our errors and return to Him.  He wants to forgive us.

  • Hebrews 13:8″ Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.”

222018_611502845540407_1686304599_n

Oklahoma City Pride Event:  http://www.okcpride.org/pride2013/

http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/blog/?p=14009

165968_430702430281440_932528305_n

