What Can You Learn From A Child?

The Prayers of Children

“Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and wonderful results.”  James 5:16

One week during our dance ministry night, The Lord put upon my heart that the dancers were to pray for each other.  So, near the end of our hour, the dancers were paired up and given instructions.  They were to ask each other what they would like prayer for and then were to pray out loud for the other person. 

“Some children were brought to Jesus so he could lay his hands on them and pray for them.”  Matthew 9:13

I wondered how serious the instructions would be received since many of them were very young (5-6 yrs old).  As I watched during the next several minutes, I was surprised by their attentiveness to each other.  I expected goofing around, but instead I saw pairs of little prayer warriors.  They sat down across from each other and shared concerns and hurts with each other.  I saw hands on shoulders with eyes closed.  I felt a peaceful presence.

After they were done, I pulled them in to the center of the room and asked them a few questions and I was again surprised by depth of the answers given.  Here are some of the comments that were shared by these children…

“I felt God’s presence.”   “It was so good to know that someone cared enough about me to pray with me.”  “I felt that I wasn’t alone because someone else had problems too.”  “I could share my problems with no worries.”  “I knew God cared about me.”  “I knew God would hear us because we prayed together.”  “I felt happy.”  “I felt loved.”

What an amazing time of ministry for them, but also for us adults as we think about how God uses even His little ones to teach the rest of us how to live.  How often do we offer to pray for someone else?  It’s awkward and uncomfortable for most of us.  The next time you are placed in a situation with someone who may be struggling with something, think about these children and how they were able to ask for and to give help.   They are an inspiration to the rest of us.

We are God’s children, and He loves us so very much.  God wants us to pray not only for ourselves and our own needs, but the needs of others as well.  Stretch yourself and you won’t be disappointed in what God will do.

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.” Phil 4:6

0e972289_child-prayer

