My Best Day

August 3, 2001 was the best day of my life.  It was the day that Jesus Christ became my Lord and Savior.  Let me tell you about it.  It was an amazingly vivid experience that I will always remember and treasure…

From August 2000 – 2001, I was in search of God. Did He exist?  If so, did He even care about me?  What’s the point of this life?  What does Jesus have to do with anything?  I had lots of questions during this year-long quest.  I started with a class held at my friend’s church, Alpha (www.alphausa.org), which allowed me to ask these questions as well as stirred up an interest to get into the Bible myself.  I found out so much information about the Christian faith!  I began attending church on a regular music.  I liked the music at first.  They had guitars and drums as oppose to the organ.  Cool!  But soon, I found that I was feeding off of the words and growing closer to accepting Jesus as my Savior. 

Then, my head knowledge of the Bible became a heart reality on August 3, 2001.  I was attending a Holy Spirit Conference in northern Mpls.  I had an incredibly inspiring day attending many breakout sessions.  The last session of the day was on inviting Jesus into your life and asking for the baptism of the Holy Spirit.

“John answered them all, “I baptize you with water. But one more powerful than I will come [Jesus], the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire.”  Luke 3:16). 

I entered the room, hesitantly, but I could feel a pull on my heart that I needed to attend this session.  A lady led the session and talked at length about Christ’s power to forgive and heal and for His power to become manifested in various gifts from the Holy Spirit – one of which the gift of “tongues” (unknown languages.)

“All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit enabled them.” Acts 2:4  *See more Bible references at the end of this document.

We stood in a circle and cried out to God, praying for His anointing.  It was at this point that I received the most precious gift I have ever received.  God physically and powerfully took control of my mouth and my vocal cords.  For the next hour, the words that came out of my mouth I did not know.  I could not stop it and I could not change any of these words to English.  If you are finding this hard to believe, I don’t blame you.  I found it hard to believe myself as I stood there, tears streaming down my face, and unknown words pouring out of my mouth.  During this entire time, my thoughts were focused on Jesus and what He had done for me, that He had taken my sins upon Him, that He had died for me so that I could have a relationship with my heavenly Father.

“that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting men’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.”  2 Cor 5:19

I was grateful and full of praise.  I never wanted this moment to end, but it eventually did as I found a chair to rest in out of exhaustion.  During this extended time of reflection on what had just happened, three audible words rang through my head as clear as day, “I forgive you.”  I wept harder than I have ever wept as I thought about my past sins and how they were now washed away and cast out to the farthest corners of the earth.

“as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.” Psalm 103:12

Jesus had called me and brought me to Himself while I was still in sin.  It was by what He had done for me for nothing I had done was worthy of His forgiveness.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

“God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful.” 1 Cor 1:9

I have never felt such joy in my life as I did when I left that room on Aug 3, 2001.  The heavy burden of sin had been removed from me.  I had a new life that I couldn’t wait to start living.

“My lips will shout for joy when I sing praise to you– I, whom you have redeemed.” Psalm 71:23

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Cor 5:17

Have you turned your life over to Jesus Christ?  If not, what are you waiting for.  He’s coming back soon. 

Will you be ready?

“They said, “Men of Galilee, why are you standing here staring at the sky? Jesus has been taken away from you into heaven. And someday, just as you saw him go, he will return!”  Acts 1:11

“And he ordered us to preach everywhere and to testify that Jesus is ordained of God to be the judge of all–the living and the dead.”  Acts 10:42

*Some Bible references to “tongues”

  • “And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new tongues;” Mark 16:17
  •  “All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues as the Spirit enabled them.” Acts 2:4
  •  “For they heard them speaking in tongues and praising God. Then Peter said,” Acts 10:46
  •  “When Paul placed his hands on them, the Holy Spirit came on them, and they spoke in tongues and prophesied.” Acts 19:6
  •  “to another miraculous powers, to another prophecy, to another distinguishing between spirits, to another speaking in different kinds of tongues, and to still another the interpretation of tongues.” 1 Cor 12:10
  • “And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues.”  1 Cor 12:28
  • “Tongues, then, are a sign, not for believers but for unbelievers; prophecy, however, is for believers, not for unbelievers.” 1 Cor 14:22
  • Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good. To one there is given through the Spirit the message of wisdom, to another the message of knowledge by means of the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by that one Spirit, to another miraculous powers, to another prophecy, to another distinguishing between spirits, to another speaking in different kinds of tongues, and to still another the interpretation of tongues. All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he gives them to each one, just as he determines. The body is a unit, though it is made up of many parts; and though all its parts are many, they form one body. So it is with Christ. For we were all baptized by one Spirit into one body–whether Jews or Greeks, slave or free–and we were all given the one Spirit to drink.”  1 Cor 12:7-13

images

 

