Can I Ask God?

Is it okay to ask God “Why me?  Why now?  What are You doing?”

So, you’re going through problems!  No one is exempt.  You ask yourself ‘Why is this happening to me?”  So, will God get mad if you ask Him ‘Why?’  We’ll look to King David (I & II Samuel, I Kings) for answers… 

King David had ordinary problems just like you and I.  Yep, that’s right!  He had ORDINARY problems, not just ‘kingly’ problems.  David struggled with…

1)     Grief – David suffered devastating losses from the deaths of family members:  Saul – the man who took care of him for many years.   Jonathan – David’s very best friend in the world.   Baby – David’s first born.

  1. Ps 31:10  “I am dying from grief; my years are shortened by sadness.”

2)     Conflict – David had enemies, one of which was the king, Saul, who had given him a home for many years.  David was chased in the wilderness for 10 years trying to run from Saul’s jealousy of him.

  1. Ps 6:7  “My vision is blurred by grief; my eyes are worn out because of all my enemies.”

3)     Family – David had so many problems with his children.  He was a very passive parent, and thus, two of his sons abused David’s lack of discipline (Amnon & Absalom).   They did harm to David’s family name (besides the hideous crimes they did.)

4)     Prosperity – David became so engulfed in his own possessions, that he began to trust in them instead of in God.

  1. II Sam 24  David called for a census to be taken so that he could count his nation to delight in his belongings.

5)     Death – David’s last days were in failing health like most of us will go through.

  1. I Kings 1:1  “No King David was old, advanced in age, and no matter how many blankets covered him, he could not keep warm.”
  2. Ps 38:10-11 “My heart beats wildly, my strength fails, and I am going blind.  My loved ones and friends stay away, fearing my disease.  Even my own family stands at a distance.”

David wrote over 70 Psalms.  David hid nothing from God in these Psalms.  David was very eloquent at stating his true feelings – both joyful and sorrowful.  Ironically, most of David’s Psalms were not written in times of great joy, but rather those in times of lament.  So, what did David ask of God during these times of trouble?   Let’s look a few of David’s cries…

1)     Why do You allow so much paint in my life? 

  1. Ps 13:2 “How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul, with sorrow in my heart every day?  How long will my enemy have the upper hand?”

2)     Why do You seem so far away?  Are You listening to me?

  1. Psalm 10:1  “Why, O Lord, do you stand far off? Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?”
  2. Psalm 4:1  “Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God.  Give me relief from my distress: be merciful to me and hear my prayer.”
  3. Ps 10:1 “O Lord, why do you stand so far away? Why do you hide when I need you the most?”
  4. Ps 13:1 “O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever?  How long will you look the other way?”
  5. Ps 35:22 “O Lord, you know all about this.  Do not stay silent.  Don’t abandon me now, O Lord.”

3)     Why don’t others seem to be suffering as much as I am?

  1. Psalm 73:3-5  “For I envied the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked. They have no struggles; their bodies are healthy and strong. They are free from the burdens common to man; they are not plagued by human ills.”
  2. Ps 10:13 “Why do the wicked get away with cursing God?”

4)     God, are you even doing anything to help me?

  1. Ps 22:1-2 “My God, my God.  Why have you forsaken me?  Why do you remain so distant?  Why do you ignore my cries for help?  Every day I call to you, my God, but you do not answer.  Every night you hear my voice, but I find no relief.”
  2. Ps 35:17 “How long, O Lord, will you look on and do nothing?…”

5)     Will you help me God?  When will you help?  How long must I wait?

  1. Ps 6:4  “Turn, O Lord, and deliver me: save me because of your unfailing love.”
  2. Ps 17:1 “O Lord, hear my plea for justice. Listen to my cry for help.  Pay attention to my prayer…”
  3. Ps 22:1 “Do not stay so far from me, for trouble is near, and no one else can help me.”
  4. Ps 25:16-17 “Turn to me and have mercy on me, for I am alone and in deep distress.  My problems go from bad to worse, Oh, save me from them all.”
  5. Ps 28:1  “O Lord, you are my rock of safety.  Please help me; don’t refuse to answer me.”
  6. Ps 4:3  “My soul is in anguish. How long, O Lord, how long?”

6)     Will you forgive me, God?

  1. Ps 6:2  “Be merciful to me, Lord, for I am faint.  O Lord, heal me, for my bones are in agony.

7)     Why exactly is this happening to me?  What’s the purpose?  What am I suppose to be learning?

  1. Ps 4:2  “How long will you people ruin my reputation?  How long will you make these groundless accusations?  How long will you purse lies?”

David is a man after God’s own heart…

Acts 13:22  “After removing Saul, he made David their king. He testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.’”

God loved David and cared for him his entire life.  God hand-picked David to be the 2nd king of Israel.  David loved God in return and devoted his life to God.  If David could ask God such heartfelt questions, shouldn’t we as followers of Jesus Christ be able to do the same without repercussion?  Yes!  God wants you to pour out your heart to Him.  He wants to hear about your joys and your struggles.  Yes, God already knows what is on your mind and your heart, but He wants you to communicate with Him.  He deeply desires a relationship with you.  Don’t be afraid to question God. 

James 1:5  “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

TheAsk670

