The Rainbow… A Message To God

The Rainbow Covenant & Symbol – A Message To God

Gen 6:5-7 “Then the Lord saw the wickedness of man was great on the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually [going against God and His Word].  The Lord was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He was grieved in His heart.  The Lord said, “I will blot out man whom I have created from the face of the land… for I am sorry that I have made them”

Then, the flood…

Gen 9:13-15 “I set My bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of a covenant between me and the earth.  It shall come about, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow will be seen in the cloud, and I will remember My covenant, which is between Me and you [Noah – the only one to be righteous in His sight], and every living creature of all flesh;  and never again shall the water become a flood to destroy all flesh.”

So what is God really saying when He puts His rainbow in the sky?  It is truly a symbol for a man, or is it a reminder for Himself?  I believe that He put it in the sky to remind Himself.

God was so enraged by the rampant sin, that His vengeance burned within Him, and thus, He anniliated the entire earth (less what was in the ark).  In order to restrain His righteous anger and judgement in the future, He would need to find a way to remind Himself to not kill everything off again.  He chose to put a rainbow in the sky to remind Himself not to do it again, because He would obviously need reminders as He continually witnessed rampant disobedience to His Holy Word (starting right away in Gen 11 with Babel).  I believe it was His way of forcing Himself to stop and think and remember His promise to Noah, a righteous man at the time.  Some on the earth would choose to follow Him and choose the way of Biblical righteousness.  He would spare the earth for the benefit of those to whom would be saved by the blood of His Son, Jesus Christ, living in the power of the Holy Spirit.

God loves His people enough to spare them in the middle of the weeds.  God is a loving and gracious God, willing to continually forgive those who turn and come to Him.

rainbow_wallpaper

