God Gives Boldness

“Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.”  Paul, Ephesians 6:19-20

Surprisingly, the Apostle Paul had some fear when sharing the message of Jesus with others.  “I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling.” 1 Cor 2: 3  Paul didn’t feel adequate to deliver this message.  He felt weak and his flesh even trembled in nervousness. He worried about the words he would say.  But, in all of his human weakness, he knew the solution to his fears. Prayer brings about God’s boldness and so he asked the church to join him in petitioning to God for this boldness.

Does sharing the Gospel of Jesus make you a little nervous?  If so, you are not alone.  The answer to your fear is not to eliminate the fear yourself, but to pray and ask others to pray boldness over you.  Did God answer this prayer for Paul?  If you read Scripture, it is obvious that he was the boldest Apostle in the New Testament. God will also answer this prayer for you.

Boldness – How does the Bible define “boldness?”  Boldness is not obnoxiousness, overpowering, loud, harsh, and demanding.  Boldness, instead, is openness, plainly, and with confidence.  It is speaking the truth in love and kindness.

When you are going out to do the work of God, as a group, spend some time praying over each other using the prayer of the Apostle Paul.  God will answer your prayers, even in your fear and trembling.  You will be able to speak forth openly, plainly, and with confidence. Trust Him to answer your prayers.

“…They were teaching the people and proclaiming in Jesus the resurrection from the dead… many of those who had heard the message believed… ” Acts 4:1,4

Sharing your personal story of Jesus’ saving grace and transformation in your life will cause many to believe in Him.  What a gift God has given!

  1.  Do I have troubles with boldness?
  2. When have I steered away from speaking up for Jesus?
  3. When is a time I was able to share my love for Jesus with others?

Heavenly Father, We come to you in weakness, fear, and trembling in sharing your Word with the world.  Lord, we humbly ask you to give us increased boldness as we go into our community in order that we might share your message with many.  Thank you that you have used real people in the Bible to show us that we, too, can accomplish your plans with your help.  In  Jesus Name, Amen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

