Jesus, Our Ultimate Protector

“Judah said to his father Israel, “Send [Benjamin] with me… I myself will be surety for him; you may hold me responsible for him. If I do not bring him back to you… let me bear the blame before you forever.” Gen 43:8-9

Though the name of Jesus is no where present in the Old Testament, it is all pointing to Him. As I read the story of Joseph this morning, these verses stood out to me as showing the picture of Jesus. Jesus is from the blood line of Judah. Judah took full responsibility for protecting and ensuring that the young one made it safety back home. He vowed his entire life. In the same way, Jesus has vowed His life, ensuring us that not one of His little ones will be lost. He will make certain that all of those who are His are brought safely back to God.

“While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.” John 17:12

Lost_sheep_by_bucz

